Monday, March 13, 2017

The Sex Bucket List by Prescott Lane (Book Review)

In association with Social Butterfly PR and author Prescott Lane, Jersey Girl Sizzling Book Reviews is pleased to host the virtual book tour event for The Sex Bucket List!








About The Book



The Sex Bucket List by Prescott Lane
Publisher: Independent Self Publishing
Publication Date: March 7, 2017
Format: eBook
ASIN: B06XGYFT1S
Genre: Contemporary Erotic Romance


Buy The Book:



Disclaimer: I received a copy of the book from the author in exchange for my honest review and participation in a virtual book tour event hosted by Social Butterfly PR and author Prescott Lane.


Book Description:

I’m Emerson, and my “to do” list is longer than I’d like. You might wonder what kind of woman comes up with a sex bucket list? Answer — the kind who’s been in a sex drought, has two crazy girlfriends encouraging her, and one too many bottles of wine. 

This kind of list requires special skill. And I have just the man in mind to help me. He’s younger. So that checks one thing off my list. And he’s the kind of man every woman should sleep with at least once in her life. The kind of man who knows his way around a woman’s body. And God, I’d like him to know mine.

Armed with new lingerie and a fancy high-tech vibrator, I’m taking charge. Of love, of life, and my libido. How hard can that be? Well, judging by the rate of pole dancing injuries, I might be in trouble.

But how much trouble can one woman get in? Giving your panties to a stranger isn’t illegal in Georgia, is it?

Grab a pen and make your own Sex Bucket List!


Book Excerpt:

Our kiss is hard and rough, and it has my legs clenching together.  His hands go to my ass, pulling my dress up slightly, lifting me up onto the edge of my desk, grinding against me.  Wearing a wrap dress today was a good call.  I usually wear wrap dresses because they are no fuss, add a nice cinch to my waist, and feel like pajamas.  Easy access wasn’t one of the reasons, but I’m thankful for it now.

Wrestling with his shirt, I yank it out of his pants, desperate to feel his skin under my fingertips.  His tongue finds my neck, and he kisses a path along my collarbone.  I thrust against every hard inch of him.  He pulls on the tie of my dress, and I wrap my legs around his waist.  Picking me up, he pushes me up against the floor-to-ceiling window. 

I can’t remember the last time a guy banged me up against a wall, or a window, for that matter.  This is a perk of being with a younger man.  Am I really going to do this?  In my office?  In the middle of the day?  He must feel my hesitation because he lowers my legs to the ground, flipping me towards the window, his hard dick pushing up against my ass, his warm breath tickling my neck.

He whispers in my ear, “Number 19.  Orgasm in a public place.  I’m saying this counts.”  I look down the few stories to the busy Atlanta street, the neighboring building.  Roughly, he forces my legs apart with his foot then reaches his hand between my legs and pushes my panties to the side.  “Your list belongs to me,” he says, his voice hard. 




Book Teasers:
















My Book Review:

The Sex Bucket List is a wonderful story about one woman's personal journey of self-discovery and finding happiness.

Author Prescott Lane weaves a beautifully written and sexy tale that takes the reader on a emotional roller coaster ride as they follow Emerson's story. Emerson is a divorced woman in her forties with three children and a successful career. But there is something missing in her life, that is until she writes a sex bucket list during a girls night out. Emerson's bucket list will take her on a personal journey of self-discovery, and finding unexpected love with co-worker Mateo, a younger man in his thirties.

The Sex Bucket List is a compelling story that will tug at the heartstrings, but it will also make the reader believe in oneself, overcome life's obstacles, and get a chance at finding true love and happiness.

The story has enough drama, romance, angst, personal and family issues, humor, and sigh worthy sexiness that will easily captivate the reader's attention. You can't help but cheer on Emerson and Mateo as their story unfolds with intriguing twists and turns that will keep you turning the pages, and hoping that their relationship will develop into true love. I loved how the author draws the reader into Emerson and Mateo's story filled with emotional family drama, and a slow smoldering craving and build up of sexual tension that leads up to a passionate romance that will send tingles down your spine. Author Lane Prescott sure knows how to weave a powerful love story that will simply leave a reader breathless. For me, the best part of this story was following Emerson as she rediscovers herself and finds happiness along the way.

The Sex Bucket List is an amazing romance story of love and moving forward in life that will resonate with you for a very long time.


RATING: 5 STARS 




Book Trailer

The Sex Bucket List by Prescott Lane from Bibliophile Productions on Vimeo.




About The Author




Prescott Lane is the Amazon best-selling author of Stripped Raw. She's got five other books under her belt including: First Position, Perfectly Broken, Quiet Angel, and Wrapped in Lace, and her new release, Layers of Her. She is originally from Little Rock, Arkansas, and holds a degree in sociology and a MSW from Tulane University. She married her college sweetheart, and they currently live in New Orleans with their two children and two crazy dogs. Prescott started writing at the age of five, and sold her first story about a talking turtle to her father for a quarter. She later turned to writing romance novels because there aren't enough happily ever afters in real life.







Thursday, March 9, 2017

The Sex Bucket List by Prescott Lane (Book Release Day Event

In association with Social Butterfly PR and author Prescott Lane, Jersey Girl Sizzling Book Reviews is pleased to host the book release day event for The Sex Bucket List!








About The Book



The Sex Bucket List by Prescott Lane
Publisher: Independent Self Publishing
Publication Date: March 7, 2017
Format: eBook
ASIN: B06XGYFT1S
Genre: Contemporary Erotic Romance


Buy The Book:


Book Description:

Mateo 

Emerson’s a sexy mom of three. 

And if you call her a MILF, I’ll kick your ass. 

She’s got a sex “to do” list, and I’m just the man to help her check some things off. 

But this isn’t my story. It’s hers. 

Unfortunately for me, her story involves an ex-husband, a kid that hates me, and a pretty nice shot to my nuts. She’s a woman who thinks too much, always with a plan, a list, but I’ve got a list of my own. 


Emerson 

Mateo likes to tease me that I have lists for my lists. But I didn’t hear him complaining when he stumbled upon my Sex Bucket List. 

This is the story of how I brushed the cobwebs off my sex life, put myself back onto my list and not only fell in love with a younger man, but with myself, as well. 

Grab a pen and make your own Sex Bucket List! 



Book Teasers:














Book Trailer

The Sex Bucket List by Prescott Lane from Bibliophile Productions on Vimeo.




About The Author




Prescott Lane is the Amazon best-selling author of Stripped Raw. She's got five other books under her belt including: First Position, Perfectly Broken, Quiet Angel, and Wrapped in Lace, and her new release, Layers of Her. She is originally from Little Rock, Arkansas, and holds a degree in sociology and a MSW from Tulane University. She married her college sweetheart, and they currently live in New Orleans with their two children and two crazy dogs. Prescott started writing at the age of five, and sold her first story about a talking turtle to her father for a quarter. She later turned to writing romance novels because there aren't enough happily ever afters in real life.







Wednesday, February 8, 2017

The Sex Bucket List by Prescott Lane (Book Teaser Event)

In association with author Prescott Lane, Jersey Girl Sizzling Book Reviews is pleased to host the book teaser event for The Sex Bucket List!







About The Book


Mateo 

Emerson’s a sexy mom of three. 

And if you call her a MILF, I’ll kick your ass. 

She’s got a sex “to do” list, and I’m just the man to help her check some things off. 

But this isn’t my story. It’s hers. 

Unfortunately for me, her story involves an ex-husband, a kid that hates me, and a pretty nice shot to my nuts. She’s a woman who thinks too much, always with a plan, a list, but I’ve got a list of my own. 


Emerson 

Mateo likes to tease me that I have lists for my lists. But I didn’t hear him complaining when he stumbled upon my Sex Bucket List. 

This is the story of how I brushed the cobwebs off my sex life, put myself back onto my list and not only fell in love with a younger man, but with myself, as well. 

Grab a pen and make your own Sex Bucket List! 


Add to GoodReads: https://goo.gl/GJUJnl 









Wednesday, February 1, 2017

Red Hots: A Valentine Anthology (Book Blast / Book Review / Contest Giveaway)

In association with Goddess Fish Promotions, Jersey Girl Sizzling Book Reviews is pleased to host the virtual book blast event for Red Hots: A Valentine Anthology!








Book Review




Red Hots: A Valentine Anthology by Caitlyn Lynch, Tally Bane, Ava Bari, Annalee Locke, R.A. Stone, Ariel Bishop, Livvy Ward, Sera Taino, Barbara Be, Abbigail Clark, Liadain Douglas, Briar McKenna, Gwen Marshall, Annika Steele, Margot Wren, Vanessa Sweet, V.T. Charbonneau, Christina Rose Andrews
Publisher: Excessica
Publication Date: Paperback - January 15, 2017 / eBook - February 1, 2017
Format: Paperback - 314 pages
               Kindle - 1498 KB
ISBN: 978-1542560788
ASIN: B01N348Y6X
BNID: 978-0995446618
Genre: Romantic Erotica / Valentine Holiday Anthology



Buy The Anthology:



Disclaimer: I received a copy of the anthology by the authors / publisher in exchange for my honest review and participation in a virtual book blast event hosted by Goddess Fish Promotions.



Book Description:


Red Hots is a steamy collection of Valentine's Day themed stories by 18 new and established romantic erotica authors. From a lonely lighthouse keeper's strange encounter with a ghostly sea captain to a husband surprising his wife with a sexy game; from an alien discovering just what Valentine's Day means to her human lover to a store owner receiving an unexpected Gift With Purchase that makes her best friend look at her VERY differently, there is something here for everyone who loves the Valentine tradition!


A collection of 18 steamy short stories...

Unexpected — Annika Steele
As one relationship ends, Maya finds a gorgeous hunk willing to give her a place to stay when she ends up wrecked on an old country road. Is Valentine’s Day about endings or is this a new beginning?

The Sea Chest — Margot Wren
When a mysterious sea chest washes up to the foot of Caroline’s lighthouse, she writes it off as a fluke. But chests carry secrets, and this chest could give a happily-ever-after to a lonely keeper.

Power Outage — Caitlyn Lynch
An unexpected power outage on Valentine's Day throws Raquel's plans for a romantic evening with her husband into disarray. The arrival of a sexy electrician sparks an erotic game she won't quickly forget.

Real — Ariel Bishop
Jess is expecting the traditional Valentine’s Day date with her boyfriend; candlelit dinner out on the town. She doesn’t get what she expected, but she does get exactly what she needed.

The Best Worst Valentine's Day Ever — Christina Rose Andrews
Getting dumped on Valentine's Day sucks. Just ask Lexi. Enter Nate, her hunky neighbor, who has just what Lexi needs to make the holiday suck less.

Moonlight and Roses — Vanessa Sweet
Melody spends Valentine’s Day alone— by choice. But when a mysterious garden and its tempting guardian offer her more, what will she choose?

Just Desserts — Gwen Marshall
After getting in trouble with their girlfriend on Valentine’s Day, Connor and Sully are prepared to make sure she gets her just desserts.

Gift With Purchase — Tally Bane
Gail had worn her good panties on a whim. It's not like a certain detective would know they were for him. But one 'Gift with Purchase' might change that and make Gail glad that she'd chosen the lace.

Roses and Tails — Barbara Be
Even on a Space Station, the Humans bring their weird customs on board. Valentine's Day is an alien concept for Jillnell, though she plays along as best as she can. But sex in Zero G poses unique challenges for aliens and humans.

Sweet On You — Ava Bari
After her heartbreak, all Molly wanted was to spend Valentine’s Day alone in a fancy hotel. A double-booking has her rooming with an attractive businessman, but maybe Jack is just what Molly needs.

Under Me, Over Me, Inside Me — Briar McKenna
With tension building and pressing against barriers of self control and doubt, what happens when what we want wins against what we think we shouldn’t have?

His Promise — R.A. Stone
Melanie has been in love with Chris since college, but they’re not exactly a couple. When she discovers she’s pregnant with his child what is she to do on the most romantic night of the year?

A Match Made In Olympus — Livvy Ward
Join Kaitlin and Eros this Valentine’s Day as they ride out a storm and try to mend broken hearts while dealing with a meddling mother. Turns out not even Cupid can escape Aphrodite’s matchmaking!

Burning Love — Annalee Locke
Maggie just wanted to spend a quiet Valentine’s Day at home, commiserating over being single with her two favorite firemen. A work related emergency changes those plans, and gives the three of them a night they'll never forget.

A Perfect Storm — Sera Taíno
An argument between Adam and his fiancée, Julia, leads to some soul searching as he realizes that life can change in the blink of an eye. He’s determined to show her just how important she is to him.

Peaches — Abbigail Clark
In the war-torn American south, Eulie Buchanan meets Jay Curtis, a man who offers her a choice sure to be the talk of the county.

First Date Gone Right — Líadáin Douglas
When Sarah gets dumped right before her Valentine's Date, two guys come to her rescue and give her a first date she won't quickly forget!

Over A Barrel — V.T. Charbonneau
When Madison agreed to cater her cousin's wedding, she didn't expect the groom's gorgeous brother to be such an asshole. Locked in the wine cellar together, will she throttle him… or jump him?
 



Book Excerpt:



From Sweet On You by Ava Bari:

As Molly turned to the bathroom door, the water shut off, and someone moved around inside.  Something fell to the floor, followed by a masculine voice cursing.  Molly’s legs and mouth refused to obey her, leaving her frozen and silent as the door opened and a man stepped out.

Now Molly’s mouth worked again, but only to loosen her jaw and prevent her from picking it up again.  He was a very tall man, even factoring in how short Molly was.  She was level with his chest - his very nice chest - and he was looking down at her from an unfairly high vantage point.  He blinked a few times, then closed his eyes for a really long time as if expecting her to vanish into thin air when he opened them again.  Molly would’ve liked to try that herself, but even without seeing him she smelled the hotel soap on his wet skin and heard his breathing.

“Uh…” she said.  Her eyes dropped to the white bath towel around his waist.  A trail of hair started at his belly button and trailed down a defined stomach and- ‘What the hell is wrong with you?  Stop looking there!’

Molly’s spine straightened. She looked right at his eyes and nowhere else. 

“What are you doing here?” he asked, voice deep and husky. 

Molly had read somewhere once that the human mind was not capable of creating faces or voices.  If you heard someone’s voice in your head, odds were good it came from someone you knew in your everyday life.  That must’ve been true, because if Molly had heard a voice that rich, she would have remembered it.

“Pulling the sheets down,” she said.  She glanced one more time at his suitcase.  “This is my hotel room.”

“That’s funny,” said the man.  “This is my hotel room, too.”

“What a coincidence,” said Molly.

And here she’d been hoping for a weekend without problems.







My Book Review:


Who could pass up reading a box set of eighteen steamy short erotic romance stories each featuring a different Valentine's Day theme?!

Since I enjoyed reading all eighteen erotic romance short stories in the Red Hots: A Valentine Anthology, I decided to only provide a general book review instead of individual reviews.

Did I mention that this awesome box set features steamy Valentine's theme erotic romance short stories from a variety of genres?!

Red Hots is an entertaining collection of Valentine's themed erotic romances that has a well balanced mixture of romance that will appeal to everyone. From sweet to hot to downright sexy, the reader will experience the variety of romantic ways that cupid shoots his arrow on the characters in each of the stories.

In Red Hots, the authors weave an intriguing and thoroughly enjoyable unique set of erotic romantic tales that have engaging characters and enough drama, humor, and steamy romance that will easily draw the reader into each passionate story, while sweeping them away to a variety of settings, holding them captivated and leaving them simply breathless.


RATING: 5 STARS 




About The Authors


Annika Steele began writing at the age of 8, but abandoned her stories in college. A ridiculous number of years later, she stumbled across fanfic, put fingers to keyboard, and hasn’t stopped writing since.  You can follow her on Tumblr at annikasteele.tumblr.com or on Facebook at www.facebook.com/annikasteelewrites



Margot Wren has been writing ever since she realized that's how stories get made. In between projects she contemplates the universe, yields to the demands of her two cats, and bakes more cookies than she can eat.

You can find Margot on Tumblr at margot-wren.tumblr.com



Caitlyn Lynch is an Australian erotica author and happily married mother of two. She has a number of published works available on Amazon.

You can also find her at caitlynlynch.com, or on her social media accounts.

Facebook: www.facebook.com/caitlynlynch6author

Twitter: twitter.com/caitlynlynch6

Tumblr: caitlynlynch.tumblr.com


Ariel Bishop is an American erotica author who feels strongly that all love triangles are best resolved through healthy polyamory.

You can find her on Facebook at
www.facebook.com/arielbishopauthor and on Tumblr at ariel-bishop.tumblr.com


Christina Rose Andrews is actually two friends, Lark and Rose, writing under one pen name. Lark boasts a degree in "Do you want fries with that?" and is a proud parent of two dogs and one cat. Rose considered becoming a cult leader before deciding it was too much effort. In her spare time, Rose likes watering her plant and plotting to take over the world.

You can find them on Twitter: twitter.com/croseandrews

Tumblr: christinaroseandrews.tumblr.com
And Facebook: www.facebook.com/christinaroseandrews
                      


Vanessa Sweet may be summoned under the cover of night with offerings of chocolate and erotica. She is mildly shocked that her submission for this anthology contains neither bondage or spanking.

She can be found on Tumblr at vanessa-sweet.tumblr.com


Gwen Marshall lives in a full house with 2 cats, a dog, a child and a husband in the Pacific Northwest. When not writing, she spends her time at the local comic book store or playing softball.

You can follow her on Tumblr at gwenmarshallfiction.tumblr.com



Tally Bane lives on the west coast of the US with her husband, children and pets. A stay at home mom who spends her free time dreaming up new stories to tell her readers.

You can find her on Tumblr at tally-bane.tumblr.com or  Facebook at www.facebook.com/Tally-Bane-137623006716338


Barbara Be is a German woman who lives on the internet and feels half as old as she really is. She loves writing aliens and elves, and she's also a sorceress of all things computers, an engineer, a mother, a good cook and a master of procrastination.

Barbara has a Tumblr with writing advice at the960writers.tumblr.com and a blog at the960writers.wordpress.com.


A lifelong lover of reading, writing, and dark-haired hotties, Ava Bari is a junior in college pursuing a degree in English. When not hitting the keyboard she can be found hitting up Amazon. This is her second published story.

Find out more at avabari.tumblr.com



Briar McKenna was told that the only secret to writing is sitting at a typewriter and bleeding, well she tried that but all that came out was glitter. Hailing from red dirt country she has half a degree in Anthropology and a dumpster worth of thoughts to share with you anyway.

You can find her on Twitter at twitter.com/briarmadeshiny and Tumblr at briarmakeshinies.tumblr.com



R. A. Stone has been a lover of romance novels for most of her life. She’s dabbled in writing through the last decade and aspires to write more with the support of her daughter and their dog, Rocco.

Find her on Tumblr at r-a-stone.tumblr.com


Livvy Ward was born and raised in Australia. She’s been a fan and avid reader of paranormal romances for the past twenty years and has just recently made the transition to professional writing.

You can find her works on Amazon.

You can also find Livvy on Tumblr: livvy-ward.tumblr.com

Twitter: twitter.com/livvywardauthor

Facebook: www.facebook.com/livvywardauthor

and at her Website: livvyward.com



Annalee Locke lives in the middle of the US. While usually found working or catering to the whims of two cats, you can sometimes spot her dancing in grocery stores or staring into space, mapping out her next writing project.



Sera Taíno is a married mother of two. She earned a Bachelor of Arts Degree from Rutgers University and currently lives in the Southern United States. When she isn’t teaching middle schoolers the fine art of writing and running a creative writing club, she is at her desk, working tirelessly on her next project.

You can find her on Twitter: twitter.com/serataino

Tumblr: serataino.tumblr.com

and Facebook: www.facebook.com/serataino



Abbigail Clark is a seventy-five year old woman trapped in a twenty-two year old body, so kindly step off the grass, dear.

In her spare time, when she isn’t writing stories, Abbigail loves to sing Strauss to her collection of bobbleheads and sew hoop skirts for her mother’s poodle, Charles.



Líadáin Douglas is an American author of erotica stories. Also an avid reader, she enjoys taking an active role in various creative communities. All creativity is art, regardless of medium.

She publishes primarily in the LGBT genre and you can find her works on Amazon.

You can also find her on Twitter: twitter.com/LiadainDouglas

Tumblr: liadaindouglas.tumblr.com

and Facebook: www.facebook.com/LiadainDouglas



A born-and-raised California girl, V. T. Charbonneau's favorite word growing up was "dangerous." Thirty years later she's still rocking that West Coast life along with two cats, one dog, and a husband. Dangerous remains her favorite word, but she's learned a few more in the meantime. She uses them to write steamy fiction with hot guys, smart girls, and a touch of romance.

You can find her published works on Amazon. You can also find her at:

Website: www.vtcharbonneau.com

Tumblr: http://www.vtcharbonneau.tumblr.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/VTCharbonneau/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/VTCharbonneau





Contest Giveaway

Win A $25 Amazon or B&N Gift Card






a Rafflecopter giveaway





Book Blast Event



Event Participants:

1: Fabulous and Brunette
2: Long and Short Reviews
3: EskieMama & Dragon Lady Reads
4: Up 'Til Dawn Book Blog
5: T's Stuff
6: Behind Closed Doors Book Review
7: Book Giveaways
8: Jersey Girl Sizzling Book Reviews REVIEW
9: Romance Author Hear Me Roar 
10: Stormy Nights Reviewing & Bloggin'
11: Reviews by Crystal
12: A romance writers blog
13: Beyond Romance
14: Readsalot
15: Books,Dreams,Life
16: Wake Up Your Wild Side
17: Harlie Williams, Writer
18: Tory Richards
19: All I Want and More Books
20: Jen's Reading Obsession
21: The Avid Reader
22: Cafinated Reads
23: Deal Sharing Aunt
24: Liz's Reading Life
25: Elodie Parkes
26: the snarkology
27: Dawn's Reading Nook
28: Becky Flade, Author
29: BooksChatter
30: Tina Donahue Books - Heat with Heart



Wednesday, December 7, 2016

Hail Mary by Nicola Rendell (Book Excerpt Reveal Event)

In association with Ardent Prose PR, Jersey Girl Sizzling Book Reviews is pleased to host the book excerpt reveal event for Hail Mary by author Nicola Rendell!







About The Book 



Hail Mary by Nicola Rendell
Publisher: Independent Self Publishing
Publication Date: eBook - November 26, 2016 / Paperback - November 28, 2016
Format: Paperback - 338 pages
               Kindle - 1408 KB
               Nook - 538 KB
ISBN: 978-1540696816
ASIN: B01MYSPWUD
BNID: 2940156990863
Genre: Erotic Sports Romance / Football Theme


Buy The Book:



Book Description:

At a boxing gym in Chicago, Mary Monahan accidentally knocks out the most handsome man she’s ever met. After she wakes him up with a few slaps and some smelling salts, the very first thing he does is ask her out for ribs and beer. His name is Jimmy. He looks like a Gillette model. And he’s just too hunky to resist.


Jimmy “The Falcon” Falconi is mystified that Mary has absolutely no idea who he is. Mystified and refreshed. He is, after all, not your everyday NFL quarterback. He shops at Costco, has a soft spot for Pinterest, and is in the midst of an epic losing streak.



Jimmy falls for Mary fast and hard, the way he does everything—balls out and like it’s fourth and long. And he realizes he’s finally met his match. That stamina he’s so proud of? Doesn’t stand a chance against her Kegels.

But what they don’t know is she’s also his new physical therapist, recently hired by the Bears to work on his rotator cuff…and groin injury. If she can’t help him, he’ll be traded faster than they can say “offensive penetration.”

In spite of the thousands of internet memes featuring Jimmy’s face with captions like: “HEY GIRL, WANT TO TOUCH MY BALLS?” Mary finds herself falling for him and his unrelenting desire to make her his.

Until a toddler shows up at Jimmy’s door.

And throws their lives into total chaos.

***

To the reader: Contents includes love, sweetness, naughtiness, honey, champagne, and an HEA. Safe.



Book Excerpt:

Jimmy

​Joe Namath said it: “When you win, nothing hurts.”
And I might be flat on my back with a headache like I just sucked down a smoothie too fast, but I’m fucking winning. Because look at that goddamned face. Fucking gorgeous. Freckles, those lips. Everything. Her body is hella hot, but that face. That face seals it.
​Also, those tits. I groan and pretend I’m rubbing my temples. Actually, I’m looking at the curve of her stomach—the crease across her belly button. The edge of the tattoo just wraps around her side, accentuating the line of her waist. God, yes.
​“I’m so sorry,” she says. “I’m not allowed to fight my own weight class anymore, but I thought you’d be able to take it.”
​“Ouch.”
​“Oh no.” She puts her hand to her mouth. “I mean…sorry. Just…I’m really sorry.”
​I know she’s lying. She’s probably left a trail of unconscious guys from here to wherever she came from, but I’m not proud. I’ll be the next man in line. I sure fucking will. “What do you weigh? A buck fifty? And you knocked me out like that?”
​“One fifty-seven!” The way she says it, she’s proud of it, and I love that. A buck fifty-seven. Sold.
“You can hit.” I explore the damage with my tongue. The hot, metallic taste of blood fills my mouth, and my saliva stings the cut on my bottom lip.
I glance around. Nobody’s paying any attention at all. Further proof that she’s done this before.
“Sorry. I wasn’t even thinking. Let me…” She dabs at my lip with a washcloth. I can smell the sweat, the salt, the heat. The sharp lingering smell of ammonia in my nostrils. A drop of her sweat runs down off her neck and lands on my chest with a plop.
She takes my face in her wrapped hands, looking from eye to eye. “I don’t think you’re concussed.”
​Okay, so I know I’m not—I don’t know much, but I do know a concussion when I get one—but I’m going to go along with it because I need her to stay exactly like that. “Might be.” I follow her eyes with mine. “Head trauma can be very complicated.”
​Slowly, a smile creeps up across her face, and a little dimple crimps her cheek. But she bites it back. “Your pupils look normal.”
​Coconut. I can smell it. Definitely coconut. Good thing I’m already flat on my back. She holds up one finger and moves it to and fro in front of my eyes. I don’t follow it. I leave my eyes right there, on this fleck of brown in her left iris.
​“If you can’t follow my finger, I think we have to call 911…”
I sniff, the ammonia still stinging my sinuses. “If I let you knock me out again, can I get you to keep doing this all night?”
​She pouts and makes a fist of her wrapped hand. “Let me? Let me knock you out?”
​“Oh yeah. Let you.”
She cocks her head, her eyes saying, Bullshit!
“Fuck, yes, I took the fall. Sometimes you got to throw the fight to get what you want.”
​She lets go of my face, and my head lands in her lap. The curve of her thigh supports my neck. She gives me that look again, the one she gave me right before the lights went out. “Yeah? And what do you want?”
​“I think you know.” I let my stare fall to her cleavage.
​She presses her lips together, like she cannot believe I just said that.
​Booyah. Now who’s on her heels?
​I rip off the Velcro cuff from the glove on my right hand and shake it off. “I’m Jimmy.” I hold out my hand to her. She shakes it softly, and then her grip tightens and she pulls me up to a sitting position in the middle of the ring. She keeps her right hand knitted in mine, thumb over thumb, and gently supports my back with the other. “I really am sorry about that.”
“I’ll deny it forever.”
“There were witnesses.” She glances over her shoulder at the assorted groups of guys around the gym.
“Are you familiar with the down-low?”
“They took pictures. For the Knockout Wall,” she says, grinning.
Fuckers. Great. Just great. JIMMY FALCONI KNOCKED OUT BY GIRL IN PINK GLOVES. I can see it on Bleacherreport.com right now. “Polaroids burn super easy.”
Now she’s really smiling, and fuck is she pretty. Like, drop-dead gorgeous. The knockout with the knockout punch. “I’m glad you’re okay. If you never woke up, that would have been a lot of paperwork.”
I grunt-laugh, which also hurts because of that one-two-three combination to my spleen earlier. I grab my stomach and flop back down on the mat.
“Need ice?”
“Let me die with dignity.”
She gets stern. “Ten-four. We’ll remember you fondly.” And then she salutes me.
​All this and she’s funny?
Alright, Falconi. Time to head for the end zone. Time to bring the Super Bowl ring home. “Fine. I’ll give you the win if you let me buy you dinner.”
​Her eyes move over my face. “Dinner? There’s a blizzard coming. Also, you might need a stitch for that lip.”
​“No way. I’ll get some superglue. Fuck the blizzard. Come out with me.”
“Tough guy.”
I study that hollow at the base of her throat and then meet her eyes to hold her stare. “Dinner and drinks.”
​She stands and offers me a wrapped hand. Toe to toe, she sizes me up like we’re locked in some full-body arm-wrestling match. Christ.
​But she still hasn’t said, “Don’t you play for the…” like everybody else always does. So I ask, “You like any other sports besides knocking totally unsuspecting strangers unconscious? Like maybe…football?”
​I hold the ropes open for her and she steps through. Goddamn, those hips. That skin. The curve of her waist. The petals of the lace that barely touch her spine. And my mind kind of unravels in imagining where that tattoo goes and how sexy that ink must be on the skin of her ass.
​“Nope. Is that a problem?” she asks. “That I wouldn’t know my touchdown from my…whatever? Going to put a cramp in our conversation, champ?”
“No problem at all.” Doesn’t matter if she knows me or not, because pretty quick here, I’m planning to have her saying my name. Over and over again.


Book Teaser:




Sign up image_Cardo 50.jpg


























About The Author



Nicola Rendell writes dirty, funny, erotic romance. She likes a stiff drink and a well-frosted cake. She is at an unnamed Ivy and prefers to remain mostly anonymous for professional reasons. She has a PhD in English and an MFA in Creative Writing from schools that shall not be named here. She loves to cook, sew, and play the piano. She realizes that her hobbies might make her sound like an old lady and she’s totally okay with that. She lives with her husband and her dogs. She is from Taos, New Mexico.





ArdentProse_LogoMain.jpg