Friday, June 14, 2013

Love In One Night by Rebecca Royce (Book Review / Contest Giveaway)

In association with Goddess Fish Promotions, Jersey Girl Sizzling Book Reviews is pleased to host the virtual book tour event for Love In One Night by author Rebecca Royce!

Book Review

Love In One Night by Rebecca Royce
Book #5: A Prepper Romance Series
Publisher: Decadent Publishing
Publication Date: April 5, 2013
Format: eBook - 49 pages / Kindle - 382 KB / Nook - 378 KB
Genre: Contemporary Erotic Romance 

BUY THE BOOK: Love In One Night

Disclaimer: I received a copy of the book from the author / publisher in exchange for my honest review and participation in a virtual book tour event hosted by Goddess Fish Promotions.

Book Description:

Melanie is a woman who handles her anxiety by preparing for the worst. She’s ready for any scenario—except love. Griffith is a man who has seen it all. Nothing surprises him until he meets Melanie. Can two people prepared for everything handle the uncertainty of love at first sight?

Book Excerpt:

“I married him because I got pregnant.” She put her hands on her hips. “And I won’t take his money because I won’t take money from the pharmaceutical companies. No offense.”

“Gee, why would I take offense when you meant to insult me?” Melanie’s face turned a lovely shade of cherry as he spoke.

“Truth is, I meant to say something nasty about Victor. I forgot, momentarily, what you do and who you do it for.”

He shrugged like he words hadn’t stung a bit. The pharmaceutical companies did both good and bad things. Griffith didn’t have to feel one-hundred-percent comfortable all the time to still know he worked on the right side of the law.

“Theft is theft. I give them back things they’ve lost.” He moved along the edge of the room. Melanie must be organized. Everything had a label, down to the box holding sponges. “And I’d bet when you get a headache, you take a Tylenol.”

“I’d try magnesium and zinc, but your point is taken. I shouldn’t be generalizing. I don’t like when it’s done to me.”

Griffith had to get out of there before he did anything really asinine, like give the blushing woman a hug. He pulled out his card. “If you hear from Victor or you think of anything, give me a call. I’ll be staying in Austin overnight.”

“Right.” She took his card. “I’m sorry you had to come all the way down here for nothing.”

“I’m not.” Her eyes widened, and he had a moment of sheer male satisfaction. He’d been able to shock her. 

“You haven’t asked me why I do this. Why I’m so prepared for a disaster? You haven’t asked. Everyone does.”

“I’ve been a lot of places. I think preparing for things, even if they might never occur, makes pretty good sense. I guess we all have our own reasons for why we do what we do.”

She bit down on her lower lip, chewing on it as she regarded him with narrowed eyes. “So you want to know why I married Victor but not why I formed a whole community dedicated to organic farming in the desert, self-sustaining living, and disaster preparedness?”

“Melanie, if you want to tell me, I’d be really amenable to hearing.” Anything she wanted to say would be fine by him. She could read the phone book aloud, and he’d sit like a good little boy and listen to her. 

“Maybe I could. Over dinner tonight.”

His heart skipped a beat. Had she actually asked him out? His mouth opened and closed. When he’d gotten off the plane in Austin, he’d had no idea he’d be stepping onto a sustainable farm, a converted bomb shelter, and asked to dinner by a hot redhead.

My Book Review:

Can two strangers who are prepared for anything handle love at first sight?

Griffith McCallister is a private investigator with prior Army Black Ops experience who was contracted by one of the world's largest pharmaceutical companies to locate Dr. Victor Cruz, a former lab manager who stole Zenith-42, a new two billion dollar drug. His mission is to retrieve the drug before its patent is fraudulently filed.

Melanie Driscoll is the architect of a "self-sustainable living" community in the Hill Country of Austin, Texas, that consists of an organic farm, environmentally friendly condos, and bomb shelter disaster preparedness.

Griffith travels to Austin to question Dr. Cruz's ex-wife Melanie Driscoll about his current location. When Griffith meets Melanie, he is instantly attracted to the feisty red-headed bombshell. When Griffith learns that Melanie and Victor have a little girl named Jenna, he knows Cruz isn't too far away, so he decides to hang around and wait for him to show up, but what he doesn't plan on is the developing mutual attraction with Melanie that leads to sizzling passion.

Love In One Night is a fast paced sizzling erotic romantic novella that mixes the themes of passion and preppers with a suspenseful twist. Written in the third person narrative, author Rebecca Royce weaves an entertaining tale that draws the reader into the lives of Griffith and Melanie, where sparks fly and sizzling passion is mixed in with danger and suspense in the Texas Hill country.

This quick sexy read delves into Griffith and Melanie's back stories and interweaves them with the present as the two meet with instant attraction and palpable sexual tension amidst the danger of a ruthless ex-husband lurking nearby. Melanie is a sassy independent woman who is prepared for anything, while Griffith is a knight in shining armor who is willing to protect Melanie and Jenna from possible danger.

With a realistic cast of characters who engages the reader with their emotional dialogue and dramatic interactions, and a riveting storyline of romance and suspense; Love In One Night is a straight to the point sizzling erotic romantic suspense novella that will keep the reader thoroughly entertained.


About The Author

As a teenager, Rebecca Royce would hide in her room to read her favorite romance novels when she was supposed to be doing her homework. She hopes, these days, that her parents think it was well worth it.

Rebecca is the mother of three adorable boys and is fortunate to be married to her best friend. They’ve just moved to Texas where Rebecca is discovering a new love for barbecue!

She's in love with science fiction, fantasy, and the paranormal and tries to use all of these elements in her writing. She's been told she's a little bloodthirsty so she hopes that when you read her work you'll enjoy the action packed ride that always ends in romance. Rebecca loves to write series because she loves to see characters develop over time and it always makes her happy to see her favorite characters make guest appearances in other books.

In Rebecca Royce's world anything is possible, anything can happen, and you should suspect that it will.

Love In One Night by Rebecca Royce ~ Virtual Book Tour Page: Goddess Fish Promotions

Virtual Book Tour Contest Giveaway

Win A $50 Amazon Gift Card

Contest Dates: June 3 - 14, 2013

Contest Giveaway Prize:

Author Rebecca Royce will be awarding a $50 Amazon GC to one randomly drawn commenter during the tour.

Follow the tour and comment; the more you comment, the better your chances of winning.

Tour Date Schedule:

Virtual Book Tour Schedule

Blurb Blitz:

June 3: Pink Fluffy Hearts: Diary of a Coffee Addict 
June 4: United By Books
June 5: Simply Ali 
June 6: Sugarbeat's Books 
June 7: All I Want and More
June 7: Brianna Lee Book Reviews

Review tour:

June 10: For the Love of Bookends
June 10: STOP 2 Queen of the Night Reviews
June 11: Words of Wisdom from The Scarf Princess 
June 12: Bunny's Review
June 13: Wicked Readings by Tawania
June 14: Taylor Made Fiction
June 14: STOP 2 Jersey Girl Sizzling Book Reviews

Friday, June 7, 2013

Virtual Book Tour Event: Week of 6/9-15/13

Virtual Book Tour Event: Week of 6/9-15/13

Friday 6/14/13

Love In One Night by Rebecca Royce

In association with Goddess Fish Promotions

Book Review / Contest Giveaway

Book Description: Love In One Night

Melanie is a woman who handles her anxiety by preparing for the worst. She’s ready for any scenario—except love. Griffith is a man who has seen it all. Nothing surprises him until he meets Melanie. Can two people prepared for everything handle the uncertainty of love at first sight?

Monday, June 3, 2013

Shore Leave by Anastasia McKellan (Book Review / Contest Giveaway)

In association with CBLS Promotions, Jersey Girl Sizzling Book Reviews is pleased to host the virtual book tour event for Shore Leave by author Anastasia McKellan!

Book Review

Shore Leave by Anastasia McKellan
Publisher: Chances Press
Publication Date: March 19, 2013
Format: Paperback - 159 pages / Kindle - 248 KB / Nook - 154 KB
ISBN: 0988230240
Genre: Contemporary Erotic Romance

BUY THE BOOK: Shore Leave

Disclaimer: I received a copy of the book from the author / publisher in exchange for my honest review and participation in a virtual book tour event hosted by CBLS Promotions.

Book Description:

Eighteen months ago, Navy pilot Greg Marsters was banished from Wyndham Shores, Massachusetts after his marriage fell apart. Now he’s returned to spend his shore leave restoring antique schooners for his old mentor so that he can buy a boat of his own. After making the biggest mistake of his life, Greg has vowed to steer clear of romantic entanglements, but he soon finds himself drawn to an old friend from high school.

Melanie Grantham is the only person in town interested in hearing Greg’s side of the story, and despite his promise to sail away alone the first second he can, Greg takes her up on her offer for the sexual healing they’re both in desperate need of. Their hot nights throw him for a loop, and the sex is out of this world. But Greg can’t forgive himself for the mistakes of his past. Will he leave Melanie behind again before he realizes he’s been given another chance for true love?

Warning: This title is intended for readers over the age of 18 as it contains explicit sex scenes and/or situations and adult language, and may be considered offensive to some readers.

Book Excerpt:

Melanie leaned toward him. Greg moved closer but hesitated, as if unsure whether he should bring his mouth to hers. She pressed her lips to his, testing him out, seeing if he’d respond. He did. They kissed, their mouths melding into one another. She parted her lips and felt his mouth open against hers in response. Then he sank his tongue into her mouth and shifted closer to her.

He deepened the kiss further. She felt a twinge between her thighs and moaned softly in her throat when his tongue rubbed against hers. Then he pulled away.

“Mel, what’s going on here?” he asked.

“Kissing. Do you like it?”

He looked at her. “Yeah. I like it a lot.”

“Me, too. No one would guess you’re out of practice.”

He laughed quietly.

She grew serious, her smile fading. “I’ve always wondered what it would be like to kiss you.” 

“And now—”

“You’ve exceeded my expectations.”

He smiled. “Is that right?”

She nodded. Melanie leaned in and kissed him some more, and Greg placed one hand on her hip and explored the curve of her. His other hand went to her breast, touching her lightly through her T-shirt. She slid her lips over his throat, exploring the rough texture where the stubble was beginning to come in. Even after their long day he smelled like aftershave. It mixed with his unique masculine scent and she couldn’t get enough. She licked the five-o’clock shadow on his neck and explored the texture of the softer skin below. She ran her hand down his chest, feeling the hard muscles draw in beneath her hands.

Then she placed her hand over the bulge in his crotch, rubbing lightly while they kissed. She felt him harden through his jeans.

Greg touched her hand. “What’s happening here, Mel?”

She licked her lips, her breath coming fast, her heart pounding. “I want you. But you’re not feeling it.”

“I’m feeling it, but I haven’t even taken you out on a real date.” 

“I’d like you to take me out,” she said.

“Tomorrow night. Eight o’clock.”

“Yes.” “Mel, whether we go out or not, I can’t give you what you need,” Greg said. “A meaningful relationship is the last thing I’m after right now.”

“Who said anything about a meaningful relationship?”

“What are you saying?” Greg asked.

“I’m saying we could have this for now. If you’ll let me.”

“I’ve got nothing to give you.”

“I have nothing to give you, either.” She kissed him again. “Take off your shirt,” she murmured in his ear.

He did. She slowly kissed her way down his bare chest, then his stomach, as she went. Then she slid to her knees on the carpet and reached for the zipper of his jeans.

My Book Review:

Shore Leave is a short contemporary erotic romance novella that has just the right amount of passion and sizzle that makes it a quick and enjoyable read.

After spending the last eighteen months on sea duty, Navy Pilot Greg Marsters comes home to Wyndham Shores, Massachusetts on a two week shore leave. But Greg doesn't exactly get a hero's welcome because of one stupid mistake that he had made which had cost him his wife and friends. While on leave he is hired by Emmett Culligan to help restore the Lady Luck, a 48 foot wooden schooner.

Melanie Granthan is a divorced woman who helps keep the books for Emmett Culligan's boat restoration business. Melanie's marriage ended six years ago, and while she has dated in the past few years, she hasn't found the right guy, but she hasn't given up on finding someone that will love her as much as she would love him.

Greg and Melanie had attended the same high school, but they ran in different social circles. Greg came from a respectable military family, his father had been an Admiral in the Navy, and Greg was following in his footsteps. Melanie and her dad had been viewed as trailer trash by the wealthier Wyndham Shores townspeople.  Melanie has harbored a secret crush on Greg since high school, even though he was out of her league and never had looked twice at her. Running into Greg at the boat restoration business renews Melanie's secret crush, but will he be interested in her now?

Author Anastasia McKellan weaves an engaging story written in the third person narrative that follows Greg and Melanie as they get reacquainted when he comes home on a two week shore leave. The author provides the reader with a nice amount of backstory into both Greg and Melanie's past that is interwoven within the storyline. Both Greg and Melanie had failed marriages that have left them broken and weary of finding love again. I loved how their relationship gradually develops into one that has them leaving their troubled pasts behind so that they could find true love and sizzling passion in each other's arms.

Shore Leave is an entertaining erotic romantic story that quickly builds upon romance and sizzling passion, it's a enjoyable quick read that will leave you wanting more.


About The Author

Anastasia McKellan has always loved losing herself between the pages of a book, and she enjoys writing stories about redemption and love that lasts forever. Her hobbies include taking long walks, studying film history, and hanging out with her two dogs. She currently resides in Washington, D.C. Wherever she is, she’d rather be by the sea. For more information about Anastasia and her books, feel free to contact her at


Virtual Book Tour Contest Giveaway

Win 1 of 10 eBook Copies Of Shore Leave


Prize is 10 eBook copies (1 each to 10 winners) of Shore Leave from Anastasia McKellan. Contest is tour-wide and ends June 15. Must be 18 years of age or older to enter.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Virtual Book Tour Schedule

May 27: SinfulReads Blog
May 30: Aspired Writer
June 2: SnifferWalk Books 
June 3: Jersey Girl Sizzling Book Reviews 
June 5: Sweet n' Sassi 
June 7: MsRomanticReads
June 8: Words of Wisdom from The Scarf Princess
June 9: From the TBR Pile 
June 9: We Love Kink
June 10: Books Books and More Books