Friday, March 27, 2015

Fake Boobs by Ryan Ringbloom (Book Review / Contest Giveaway)

In association with Reading Addiction Virtual Book Tours, Jersey Girl Sizzling Book Reviews is pleased to host the virtual book tour event for Fake Boobs by Author Ryan Ringbloom!






Book Review



Fake Boobs by Ryan Ringbloom
Publisher: Independent Self Publishing
Publication Date: February 1, 2015
Format: Paperback - 264 pages
               Kindle - 1034 KB
ISBN: 978-1507824573
ASIN: B00T8AAI1Y
Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance


Buy The Book: Fake Boobs
Amazon
Goodreads





Disclaimer: I received a copy of the book from the author in exchange for my honest review and participation in a virtual book tour event hosted by Reading Addiction Virtual Book Tours.


Book Description:

Tori Albert is eighteen. Her confidence level is zero. A girl lost in the shuffle, hiding in the shadows craving attention, but no one ever seems to notice her. If only someone, anyone, would notice her, she’d be happy.

Grant Donavan is Tori’s older brother’s best friend. Suddenly he can’t stop noticing Tori, but that is not a good thing. She’s young, inexperienced and na├»ve. The best thing he could do is walk away. So why the hell is he not walking away?

Tori’s small boost of confidence gets torn down and she makes changes to build it back up. But maybe her new confidence isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. Unfortunately some things you just have to learn the hard way.

*Contains Mature Content




Book Excerpt:


Prologue:

Grant

“Look around the bar, Grant. Give us an idea of what your type is. We’ll help hook you up with the perfect girl.” My sister’s friend, Gabby, tossed a pretzel into her mouth, and chewed while talking.

I scanned a few of the girls seated closest to us. Fair skin, red hair, casually sipping a beer and chatting with her friends. She was pretty, but not for me. Moving along. Dark hair, exotic, confident, drinking a Martini. Her eyes connected with mine and she rolled them uninterestedly. Not a problem, the feeling was mutual. Next. Ponytail and glasses picking at the label on her bottle of beer. Cute, but once again, I wasn’t interested.

“Doesn’t look like you see anyone,” Gabby said, exchanging glances with my sister, Julie.

I gave another glance around the room at the pretty faces surrounding us, but still no one held my attention. All of the girls were attractive. Just none of them seemed to do it for me.

Not like her.

The dull ache forming in my chest stopped me from going down that road again.

Crowds and drinking were never my scene. I was eager to leave even though we hadn’t been there very long. No matter what part of Jersey you were in, the bars were always mobbed. I’d almost forgotten how crowded it could get; it’d been so long since I was home. Not that Jersey was my home anymore. We paid the tab and the three stools we vacated were immediately snatched up in the packed bar.

As we made our way through the hoard of people, my eyes fell on a girl with the most unnatural looking blonde hair I’d ever seen. Platinum locks so light her hair actually bordered on white and eyes an odd shade of blue that just didn’t look right. Even in the poor lighting of the bar, I could see her make-up was piled on thick. Her jeans were tight and her blouse was low cut. The heels on her boots were high and her boobs were…ginormous. Way too large for her small frame. She stood in a circle of laughing girls, but there was something familiar about the sweet sound of her laugh that stood out.

After passing the group of girls, I turned my head to catch one last glimpse of the busty blonde before being tugged from the bar into the fresh night air.

What was it about that girl? Did I know her? What was on her wrist?

“No. Way!” Julie and Gabby both stated dramatically in unison.

“No way what?” I asked, turning to face them.

“There is no way in hell we would ever let you go for a girl like that.” Julie laughed, patting me on the back.

“Like what?” I questioned, lifting my brow.

Gabby shook her head giggling and Julie answered for both of them.

“A desperate girl with big, fake boobs.”



My Book Review:

Eighteen year old Tori Albert has low self-esteem and lacks self confidence when it comes to her appearance. But there is one person who likes Tori for herself ... Grant Donovan is Tori's older brother Jim's best friend. Tori and Grant strike up a friendship, and when feelings start to develop between them, Grant gets spooked and walks away leaving Tori with a broken heart. Tori becomes so obsessed with her looks that she decides to completely change her appearance (fake boobs, new clothes, etc) ... but her new self confidence only lasts so long ...

Author Ryan Ringbloom weaves an interesting and enjoyable new adult tale that delves into the issues of self confidence, self esteem, struggling with self body image, and wanting desperately to fit in. These are all issues that young people can relate to when it comes to how they view their body, appearance, and attractiveness among their peers.

The story is told in the perspective of both Tori and Grant, and as the reader follows their journey, you can't help but feel empathy for these young people as they struggle to face the issues that peer pressure places upon them. I found myself pondering what makes people (especially young people) want to go so far to make a complete change in appearance, especially when their new image will only make them happy for just so long. It takes more than superficial changes to a person's image to find true happiness, and discover what is really more important in life.

Fake Boobs is a realistic and compelling story about dealing with personal insecurities, self awareness and confidence, peer pressure, finding and accepting your true inner self. Author Ryan Ringbloom thoughtfully delivers a power message that will resonate with the reader for a long time.


RATING; 4 STARS 





About The Author



Ryan Ringbloom is a YA/NA author who lives for anything Romance. The passion, love, angst, awkwardness… she loves all of it. When Ryan needs a break from reality she sneaks off to read a romantic story or write one of her own. Drinking coffee, reading Tweets and hugs from her six year old are the best part of her day.

You can follow her on Twitter: @RyanRingbloom or visit her website at www.RyanRingbloom.com . Feel free to contact her, she would love it!


Author Website
Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
Goodreads



Contest Giveaway

Win A $100 Victoria's Secret Gift Card




a Rafflecopter giveaway




Virtual Book Tour



To view the tour schedule, click on the above link!




Wednesday, March 25, 2015

Two Princes: The Biker & The Billionaire by Victoria Danann (Book Cover Reveal Event)

In association with Pump Up Your Book, Jersey Girl Sizzling Book Reviews is pleased to host the book cover reveal event for Two Princes: The Biker & The Billionaire by Author Victoria Danann!







 About The Book 




Title:  Two Princes: The Biker and The Billionaire
Author: Victoria Danann
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Publisher:  dba7th House Publishing, Imprint of Andromeda LLC
Publication Date: June 16, 2015


Preorder Book Buy Links:
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Apple iTunes
Kobo

Brigid Roan is a graduate student at the University of Texas. She had no trouble getting her thesis approved, but finding a Hill Country motorcycle club willing to give her access to their lifestyle had started to seem impossible. Then she got a lead. A friend of a friend had a cousin with ties to The Sons of Sanctuary.

What she wanted was information to prove a proposition. What she didn’t want was to fall for one of the members of the club. Especially since she had set out to prove that motorcycle clubs are organized according to the same structure as primitive tribal society.

Brash Fornight was standing in line at the H.E.B. Market when his world tipped on its axis. While waiting his turn to check out, his gaze had wandered to the magazine display and settled on the new issue of “NOW”. The image on the cover, although GQ’d up in an insanely urbane way, was… him.

After reading the article, Brash threw some stuff in a duffle and left his club, The Sons of Sanctuary, with a vague explanation about needing a couple of days away. He left his Jeep at the Austin airport and caught a plane for New York, on a mission to find the guy who was walking around with his face.

Two brothers, one a player, one a playboy, are on a collision course with destiny and a woman who thought she won a prize when she was allowed a look inside the Sons of Sanctuary MC.




About The Author


Victoria Danann


Victoria Danann is the USA TODAY Bestselling Author of The Knights of Black Swan, which has won BEST PARANORMAL ROMANCE SERIES TWO YEARS IN A ROW (2013, 2014). Reviewers Choice Awards, The Paranormal Romance Guild.

Victoria writes cross-genre with uniquely fresh perspectives on paranormal creatures, characters, and themes. She is making her debut into contemporary romance with publication of the SUMMER FIRE ultimate romance collection anthology. It contains a novella intro to the Sons of Sanctuary MC series. The first full novel of the series will be released June 16, 2015.

Contact Victoria at:





Book Cover Reveal Event Page


http://www.pumpupyourbook.com/2015/03/13/pump-up-your-book-presents-two-princes-the-biker-and-the-billionaire-book-cover-reveal-event/



Tuesday, March 3, 2015

Something Real by Lexi Ryan (Book Release Day Event)

In association with AToMR PRomotions, Jersey Girl Sizzling Book Reviews is pleased to host the virtual book release day event for Something Real by Author Lexi Ryan!








Something Real by Lexi Ryan
Book 2: Reckless & Real Series
Publisher: Ever After, LLC
Publication Date: February 28, 2015 (PB) / March 3, 2015 (eBook)
Format: Paperback - 254 pages
             Kindle - 3015 KB
             Nook - 368 KB
ISBN: 978-1940832715
ASIN: B00R40ON3Y
BNID: 2940151308694
Genre: Adult Contemporary Romance / Erotica


BUY THE BOOK: Something Real



BUY THE SERIES: Reckless & Real Series
Book 0.5: Something Wild (Prequel Novella)
Book 1: Something Reckless
Book 2: Something Real (Publication Date: March 3, 2015)


Book Description:

After everything blew up on Christmas, Liz walked away from me, and I let her. She said she needed space and a chance to pursue her dreams. But we both knew she was running from the mess she made. Now the political campaign she used as an excuse to leave is bringing us back together and I’m proving to her what she really needs—not just the hot nights, greedy hands, and undeniable physical chemistry. What she really needs is something real. What she really needs…is me.


Book Excerpt:

Sam

Security had better not have let one of those asshole journalists from downstairs up to my floor. I swear, those soul suckers would do anything to get a new detail to add to their nothing stories. I open the door without removing the chain and feel as if I’ve been punched in the gut when I see the woman on the other side.

Liz is worrying her lower lip between her teeth and watching down the hall. Is she looking for Sabrina or trying to make sure no one sees her coming to my room? My insides twist at the sight of her—an internal tug-of-war between conflicting emotions. I want to pull her into my room and kiss her until she can’t see straight, touch her until she promises never to leave me again, and at the same time, I want to demand that she go back to her room because having her close makes me hope for things I can’t have.

I remove the chain and tug her inside by the arm before closing the door behind her.

“No one saw me,” she says, her eyes locked on the floor. “I made sure.”

I saw you,” I growl. It’s painful to be this close—to breathe her air, to smell her perfume. I never knew how much it could hurt to want and be denied.

She swallows and avoids my eyes. “Is she here?”

“What do you want, Liz?”

She lifts her head and stares at me. “Is she here?”

“Sabrina’s on her way to meet her mom in South Dakota for a campaign stop.”

Her gaze dips to my bare chest and back up. “I’m surprised they didn’t ask you to go with them.”

“They did. I declined.” I sound like a fucking dickhead, and I make myself take two steps back so I don’t do something equally dickish. Like kiss her until she melts in my arms and forgets about the other guy, until we both forget that this is hopeless.

“I’m sorry that video was leaked. You didn’t deserve that invasion of your privacy.”

She has red lipstick on, and it matches her shoes. Ever since I saw her tonight, I’ve been picturing her on her knees in nothing but those shoes, those red lips stretched around my cock. I can’t help myself, and I skim my thumb over her bottom lip.

The second I touch her, she draws in a ragged breath. “You came to my apartment yesterday.”

“I did.”

“Why?”

I trail my thumb down her neck and over the red strap of her dress. “Probably for the same reason you came here tonight.”

“To talk about Sabrina?”

“You knocked on my door in the middle of the night to talk about Sabrina?” I follow the strap down and graze my fingers across her cleavage. “Is this about her, or is it about you and me?”

“There is no you and me,” she says. “We both know that.”

“There’s so much you and me, there’s no air left when we share a room. There’s always you and me.”

“Even when you’re making sex tapes with someone else?”

“And even when you’re keeping warm in another man’s arms.”


Playlist:

Something Real
 Playlist

From Lexi:

Because I so frequently have to switch gears at the drop of a hat—from Mom to writer, from the business side of writing to drafting an intensely emotional scene—I rely on music to quickly plant me in the zone for any given book. Every time I start to write a book, I create a playlist that makes me think of the characters and I listen to it and add to it as I write. Here’s what I was listening to while I was writing Something Real. I hope you like it!

Amnesia—5 Seconds of Summer
Over You—Ingrid Michaelson (feat. A Great Big World)
How Long Will I Love You—Ellie Goulding
You Ruin Me—The Veronicas
Don’t—Ed Sheeran
All You Had to Do Was Stay—Taylor Swift
Changed by You—Between the Trees
Thinking Out Loud—Ed Sheeran
Crazy in Love—Sofia Karlberg
Love Me Like You Do—Ellie Goulding


Teasers:











About The Author




New York Times and USA Today bestselling romance author Lexi Ryan’s novels have been described as intense, emotional, and wickedly sexy. A former college professor, she now writes full-time from her home in Indiana, where she lives with her husband, two children, and a neurotic dog. Find her on Facebook or Twitter to chat about books, TV, and her children’s latest antics.


AUTHOR WEBSITE
FACEBOOK
TWITTER
PINTEREST
GOODREADS










Monday, March 2, 2015

Queen of Clubs: Cora by Katie de Long (Author Guest Post / Book Review / Contest Giveaway)

In association with Goddess Fish Promotions, Jersey Girl Sizzling Book Reviews is pleased to host the virtual book tour event for Queen of Clubs: Cora by Author Katie de Long!






Author Guest Post


A Love Letter to the Length and Breadth of Romance. 


Okay, so, some of us were born to love reading, but few of us were born to love reading romance-- or publicly admit to it, anyways.

I remember my sister sneaking my mom's Harlequins, my mom catching her, and telling her if she followed those feelings she'd end up alone and pregnant. Our family was definitely not the most sex-positive place to grow up.

And especially if you run in a more traditionally masculine nerd crowd you take a steady stream of jibes about the romance genre's existence. That only intensifies if you write it.

I wasn't a romance fan before I started writing it. I was born and bred to the “serious stuff”-- Scifi, Fantasy, Horror, Speculative fiction. I loved a sensuously written fade-to-black, a well-woven love story in with the big boy plots, but it always felt like something was missing from those stories, some dimension of the characters that was intentionally subverted or hidden. 

And then one day, the man-beast dared me to write what he couldn't (or wouldn't), and give it a try, drafting a romance series. I'm an obsessive workaholic, so I began examining the romance, new adult, erotica books that were getting great word of mouth, and trying to analyze them, pick apart why.

And the more I read the genre, the more I realized that those swoon-covered Harlequins I'd snickered at barely touched the tip of the iceberg.

There's so many debates now over the rigid HEA/HFN expectations that might render some classical romances..... not genre romances, but even leaving that to the aside, the romance genre was so broad, I found myself getting lost in it.

I didn't care for the bullying alpha males who practiced BDSM without understanding what they preached, but I loved the men who fell for women who were trying to kill them. I even learned to enjoy the sometimes problematic Beauty And The Beast captivity fantasy retellings. I learned to not beat myself up for the catharsis of a cowboy romance, or the wish-fulfillment of a billionaire one. How is it sillier than the paranoia of thrillers, or the need to recreate our world, and our tragedies, writ large in the cosmos, as though the mutant ape-babies hijacked this unfortunate planet are inherently destined for that kind of unilateral dominance?

And somewhere in there, I realized that that additional dimension wasn't just my own desire for more, or a vague dissatisfaction. Our sexualities aren't divorced from our person, and the fade-to-blacks and intentionally minimized romantic subplots were only serving to cut their characters off from vital pieces that could shape them. To shape a good erotic journey is far and away as sweeping of a challenge as topping Tad Williams or George R.R. Martin at complex epic fantasies.

From someone who found it impossible to read her first romances without putting on the mocking phone-sex voice, I've become someone who has written PTSD assault survivor romances, sex positive stripperotica, and explored a shitton of people's sexualities, some of whom are pretty far outside what I want in my day-to-day life. Even wrote a story with tentacles, though not the hentai ones. And it feels like I've found my niche, found my home. I'm with my people, people who can believe that sometimes finding love is just as important as defeating the dark god of evilness, reincarnated.

And you know what? It's a lot of fun. There's a time and a place to watch the Prophesied One bring about the downfall of the fourth Middle Earth. And when that world is rebuilding to be good as new for the author's next trilogy, set a hundred years later, I'll be right here with the Gypsy Brothers, whooping at the delicate contrast between the hate-sex and the lovemaking.




About The Author




Katie de Long lives in the Pacific northwest, realizing her dream of being a crazy cat-lady. As a kid, Katie flagged the fade-to-blacks in every adult book she encountered, and when she began writing, she vowed to use cutaways sparingly. After all, that's when the good stuff happens. And on a kindle, no one asks why there's so many bookmarks in her library.


AUTHOR WEBSITE
MAILING LIST
FACEBOOK 
TWITTER
GOODREADS



Book Review



Queen of Clubs: Cora by Katie de Long
Book 1: Queen of Clubs Series
Publisher: Independent Self Publishing
Publication Date: October 10, 2014
Format: Paperback - 62 pages
              Kindle - 1002 KB
              Nook - 246 KB
ISBN: 978-1502781086
ASIN: B00OC6LD2M
BNID: 2940046292879
Genre: Erotic Romance


Buy The Book: Queen of Clubs: Cora


Queen of Clubs is currently published monthly. Visit delongkatie.com for preorder and purchase links, or sign up for the mailing list, to be notified when new titles are available.


Disclaimer: I received a copy of the book from the author in exchange for my honest review and participation in a virtual book tour event hosted by Goddess Fish Promotions.






Book Description:

The exotic dancers and employees of the Queen of Clubs walk a fine line, with only wits, beauty, and market savvy to keep them from toppling into the shark pit. Ride shotgun through lapdances, romance, and sexual awakenings. Don't worry, these girls won't ask what your hands are doing under the tip rail.

Cora, an adventurous student, finds herself auditioning for a stripping gig...and it comes with more than the asking price, including a very attractive DJ.

Queen of Clubs contains adult content, and is intended for mature readers. Each Queen of Clubs title is a standalone novella length work.


Book Excerpt:


I prayed the song wouldn't end. Would the next one jar me out of this rhythm? Would I wake up and discover it was a dream, that I was still the awkward college student I had to be the rest of the time? I slid the straps of my bra off my shoulders and undid the catch, but hesitated to let it fall away from me.

I looked toward Kirk and met his eyes. Fuck. He'd been staring, a combination of lust, pride, and approval in the small smile on his face. It reassured me, and against my better judgment, I grinned back.


My Book Review:

Queen of Clubs: Cora is a fast paced and sensuous erotic romance story that is told in the first person narrative by Cora Meridano, a college student who auditions for a stripper's job at The Queen of Clubs strip club. Cora whets the reader's interest in describing her first day on the job as "Angel," learning the ropes as an exotic dancer: a two song set, pole dancing, lap dances, and a private room session. What she didn't expect was her attraction to Kirk, the club's daytime DJ, who is also attracted to her. Cora finds that the experience of dancing for men has opened a new world for her, she feels that she has made the right decision, feels alive, sheds her inhibitions, and is at peace with herself. On her first night shift, Kirk buys time with Cora in the champagne room, the club's private room, where their mutual attraction develops with flirtatious banter and sexual innuendos, eventually leading up to a sensuous night spent together at Kirk's apartment.

Author Katie de Long easily whets the reader's interest with this sassy little erotic romance novella. The author provides just enough of the behind the scenes intriguing practices of the strip club that briefly describes the exotic dancer's routine and the services provided at the strip club, but alas the reader is left wanting more. But not to worry, the author does provide a nifty glossary of strip club terms at the end of the book that will spark the reader's interest in reading the rest of the series.

The main focus of the story is the development of the mutual attraction and romantic / sexual relationship between Cora and Kirk. The development of their relationship flowed seamlessly from the initial attraction at the club to a steamy night of sex at Kirk's apartment. Cora is a sassy girl, who through deciding to dance at the strip club discovered herself. I loved Cora and Kirk's playful banter and mutual attraction, the sparks from their connection led to a very pleasurable night that left me smiling.

Queen of Clubs: Cora is an enjoyable and sexy erotic romance story that will leave you wanting more. It is the first book in the Queen of Clubs Series, but can be a stand alone read.


RATING: 4 STARS 





Contest Giveaway


Author Katie de Long will offer a signed paperback of Queen of Clubs: Cora and a swag pendant to one randomly selected commenter and will offer a signed paperback of Queen of Clubs: Cora and a swag pendant to a randomly drawn host (US only).

Follow the tour and comment; the more you comment, the better your chances of winning.

The tour dates can be found here:

http://goddessfishpromotions.blogspot.com/2014/10/vbt-queen-of-clubs-cora.html



a Rafflecopter giveaway




Virtual Book Tour


Click the above link for the virtual book tour schedule.